LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing Data in Excel

I have a question one how to store data in an excel file each time a program reaches a certain point within a stacked sequence structure.

I’m still learning how to use labview, but a brief overview of my project is I'm using labview to create an application that cycles through 24 input voltages. The program is a temperature monitoring system. The input consists of 4 multiplexers that are all attached to a binary coded decimal ‘counter’ that cycles through each of the inputs, these are then fed to a second multiplexer which specifies which of the 4 input multiplexers the program is sampling from. If input select 1 is 000 and select 2 is also 000, then the program is reading inputs from the first input of the first multiplexer. If select line 1 is 001 and select line 2 is 001, then the program is reading from input #2 of mux #2 etc.

My current program consists of using the DAQassistant to configure the pinout of the NI USB device to sequentially read from each of the inputs, and saves them to a global variable. The program is mainly using the stacked sequence structure to control the program flow. Each input from the DAQassistant is sampling at 1000Hz for each cooling line. What I am currently doing is converting the dynamic data type to an array and averaging the value of the array to get a single value for each sample. This single value is then assigned to a global variable of type string that corresponds to each channel i.e. Channel 1 Channel 2 etc.

My question is: once I have all the values assigned to each global variable I would like to do 2 things:

• Continuously log the data into an excel file for each iteration of the program, but I’m unsure how to do this.
  • Check to see if the readings are within a permissible temperature range