From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stepper Motor Control using NI USB 6211

Hi,

Could someone hep me with following:

I have a working model of the stepping motor control, but i am intending to change or add the following function:

1. Speed of the motor - I have to stop and run again to change the speed, how can i accelerate the speed in real time
  2. Direction of the motor - how can I stop the motor or slow it down before i change the direction of the motor (mainly to avoid to the immediate jerk it gets)

I am new to programming, any help on the same would be appreciated.

Regards

Deepak

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,156 Views)

Hi Deepak

You will need to use a encoder with three digital input lines for A, B, C with a counter input task set to velocity encoder (includes speed and direction).

Below is a link which you may find helpful;

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/14805/en/

Thanks,

Sarah

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,074 Views)

Hey Deepak,
I am recently using NI USB6211 to control a stepper motor and I met some hardware problem.
My question is : with the program you attached above, does the DAQcard DO channel provide a pulse signal to motor driver or IO signal? I have this question because the supplier asked me to decide the type of driver. Should I choose pulse train control type or digital IO control type (two choices from supplier)?
Another question is did you use any interface between USB6211 and motor driver, such as an amplifier? I am worrying the power of output signal from DAQcard and input signal to driver are not match? I have an external power supply for driver though.
These two questions confused me for a long time, please share with me some of your experience.