LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

State Machine Data Type Matching Help

Hello everyone,

I am a LabView novice and I am trying to create a program that generates, acquires, and graphs a waveform. The program will use DAQmx blocks corresponding to the compact DAQ AI and AO modules.

I decided to use a state machine after running into some data type difficulties using producer/consumer loops and some physical channel difficulties when using a simple series structure.

My problem is that I cannot wire the case selector to either the AO or AI voltage blocks in separate cases. This doesn't allow me to actually create my wfm generation and aquisition cases so my program is broken.

I keep getting the error: "you are trying to connect two terminals with different data types. the type of the source is an unsigned word and the type of the sink is a user defined refnum tag". My AO and AI type is a voltage that I selected from the drop down menu. I do not know how to change these DAQmx data types to something other than "user defined refnum tags". This is the same error that I got when I tried to connect my producer/consumer queues.

I am pretty sure that there is a simple solution to this and I would really appreciate some help :).

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,073 Views)
You are going to have to show what the heck you are trying to wire up. The unsigned word sort of makes sense if you are using a refnum to define the cases but I can't think of any DAQ function where you would possibly wire this to and an DAQmx AI or AO function does not have a voltage pulldown.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,065 Views)

Dennis,

Here's a little overview about what I'm trying to do: