From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sine wave generating using formula

Hi Guys.

I'm new in LabView and have a problem with sine wave generator using formula. Basically I want to generate the signal which will include start delay, specific number of cycle with specific frequency in sec, hold time and limitation of max and min signal e. g. starting at 0 for 2 sec then switching for 2 cycle of sine wave -> freq 2 sec and amplitude 5 limited in positive signal at 2 and then coming back to 0 for 3 sec -> hold time, and starting from beginning.

My problem is the sine wave not starting from zero but after Start Delay is jumping to some point where it will be when running from the beginning as a sine wave. I've attached the picture as a reference. There can be a problem with formula as well as I'm a mechanical engineer and first time touch with such a programing.

Can you please look at it and suggest how to solve that issue? In attached file there are cases where I've tested case "sine" and "step" where I've put a bit different solution. Both not working. 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,858 Views)

If you need the sine wave to start at zero after the Start Delay, you need to subtract it from in the time parameter for the SIN input.

The chart shows the first point of the sine wave at exactly the location of the Start Delay.  The chart shows a line connecting the previous point.  If the first point was 0 as intended, there would not be any difference between the 2 points.

Michael Munroe, CLD, CTD, MCP
Automate 1M+ VI Search, Sort and Edit operations with Property Inspector 5.0, now with a new Interactive Window Manager!