LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulating LabVIEW FPGA code on PC - problem with timing

Hello everyone

I am quite new to LabVIEW and LabVIEW FPGA.

I want to use NI Compact RIO – 9114 (40 MHz clock rate) to control an Modular Multilevel Converter (MMC).

For preliminary experiments, I want to create two triangular waveforms (with frequency of 1 kHz) with 180 degrees phase shift, to implement SPWM. The triangular waveform is between 0 and +1.

I am using a modified version of “[FPGA] FXPT TriangleGen (use inside SCTL).vi” (My VIs have been attached).

1- Is there any way to see the exact produced waveforms on PC or Real Time target?

I have tried simulated I/O mode, and tried to use waveform chart.

I have also tried to simulate the VI in My Computer (PC host?) and used waveform graph.

However, I have problem with timing. I can’t understand how to relate real time, the time that FPGA                 needs to run the program and give the waveform samples, and simulated time on PC, in the above                 environments.

Could you please suggest me a way to test my waveforms before compiling the code on the FPGA                 board?

2- How can I adjust the x-axis of waveform chart and waveform graph to be compatible with real                      time? I need to do this to see whether the frequency and phase shift between the waveforms are                    implemented correctly or not.

3- As “discrete delay function” can produce limited delay, is there any alternative way to produce                      phase shift between the waveforms (instead of connecting more discrete delay function in series)?

4- Are there any suggested references or tutorials for learning basics of LabVIEW FPGA and                          LabVIEW Real-Time for power electronic applications?

Thank you in advance. Answer to any of the above questions can help me a lot and is really appreciated.

Best regards,

Sina

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5