LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple voltage sweep

Hello,

I am very new to Labview, and am trying to write a program to control a new field emission system with x,y,z scanning motors. Basic operation is as follows..

The motors raster scan from the bottom left to the top right of a sample and stop at each of the inputted step size to measure an IV.

I have written the "raster loop" program which works fine (allthough getting my head round the serial commands to talk to the motors was a nightmare!) However, I'm having real problems writing the IV sweep program which I will insert as a sub vi to measure IV at each step point.

I'm using a keithley 248 and a 6485.

What I want the IV rogram to do is have Vstart, Vend, Vstep and Number of loops. I probably need some sort of averaging of the current too. IT would be really nice if the data could be somehow linked to the x,y,z coordinates of the raster program as there will be a huge number of IVs for a given sample. The program I have at the moment is based on a previous one posted which I have tried to modify (without sucess!) At the moment all I want it to do is loop the voltage, recording a current each time, then continue until it hits Vend. I haven't tried putting in graphs or "save to table/matrix" yet.

Attached are 2 pictures, IV1.jpg is the block diagram, and error.jpg is the only error I get when it hits the scan string box. I'm not sure if this is the reason why it wont run out of slow speed either.

Any help/suggestions would be much apriciated.

Many thanks,

Rich

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,027 Views)
A few points:
  • I don't quite understand what you're talking about when you talk about the raster program and the IV sweep. Can you elaborate on this relationship?
  • If you have Vstart, Vend, and Vstep, what's "Number of Loops" for? What does it control?