From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple object tracking

Hello, I am very new to labview and I am trying to build a vi that will let me open an .avi video file and track an object's motion throughout each frame of the video.

I want to have a box to mark the location of the object for each frame, and I plan to do this by using subtraction to locate the object by subtracting all the values of one frame from the frame before that. This way, after subtraction, the only remaining non-zero values should be where the object has moved to. Additionally, I think I may have to implement some sort of threshold value so only certain values will be tracked, but I have not put this in the vi yet.

To read each frame, I used the IMAQ frame reader and put the values of that frame into an array (ImageToArray function). However, I am not sure how to set this up in my vi and everything I have tried ends up in error. Also, I am unsure which function to use to actually mark the location of the fish and how to implement it into my loop. I tried to assimilate the example Object Tracker's vi into mine, but I was a bit confused as to how their vi was structured, and how the functions should fit.

I have attached what I have so far in my vi, any help or guidance on how I can further build my vi would be greatly appreciated. Also, I am sure there are errors all over my vi, but I am unsure on what to fix so far. Thank you very much!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,006 Views)

Hi jshieh,