From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial Communication Labview - Arduino

Hi all

I am really new to Labview and I am trying to set up a Serial Communication between my Arduino board and Labview.

I tried to write a really simple program that just prints out random numbers and read them in Labview, but I fail.. Can someone help?

Here is my Arduino Code, my LabView-VI (made up of examples I found in this forum) is attached:

long randNumber =0;
int readNumber=50;
void setup() 
{
  Serial.begin(9600);    // opens serial port, sets data rate to 9600 bps
}

void loop() {
  randNumber = random(readNumber); //dont read.. just print..
  Serial.println(randNumber); 
  delay(100);
}

I was also wondering if I don't need something like a "Handshake" between LabView and Arduino to make sure the Serial Connection is set up properly before I start reading out data? I did that when using SerialCommunication with Matlab and was wondering how to do that in LabView.

In the long run I would like LabView to read the SerialData from my digital Sensor (on Arduino UNO) that prints out 3 Values (X,Y and Z) on one line.

My LV-code will run through a few loops and at each step I want to measure and save the data. Will I have to open and close the serial port each time or can I open it once, read values at each step (even though I do much other stuff in between) and close it at the very end?

Please excuse my lack of knowledge, a working basic example would help a lot to get me started because I did not find anything working on the internet..

Thank you very much!

Kathi

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(9,152 Views)