From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Semaphor behaving different than expected

Hello everybody,

I am new to Semaphors and although I thought I understood the working principle, they dont behave the way I want :S

I am using two VIs (attached are the simplified block diagrams). The Experiment VI will carry out an experiment which requires a pressure reading. On the other hand there is the logging Vi that frequently logs the pressure, to monitor the pressure even if no experiment is carried out. To avoid both vi accessing the same pressure reading instrument at the same time I use Semaphors. However, to me it seems like the Example VI is not able to successfully occupy the Semaphor. Therefore, the logging VI always accesses the device although the experiment is still running.

I really dont know what I am doing wrong here. I am thankfull for any advice!

Regards Stefan

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,795 Views)

Hi Stefan,

If I am correct, you should be using a while loop inside the data logging VI, which will not exit until the logging is stopped by some means. Once the data logging VI acquires the semaphor, it start logging the data continiously without coming out of the loop. So there is no possibility for the Experiment VI to acqire semaphor, since the semaphor is not released by data logging VI. I have attached a sample VI, which explains the concept of semaphore. Select Highlight execution and run this attached VI to understand easily. Can you be more specific so that I can understand the problem clearly.

Reards,

Gopal.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,773 Views)

Hi Gopal,