LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running Command Line Prompts through LabVIEW

Hello everyone!

I am looking to control a router through some LabVIEW prompts so that I might be able to automate it's configuration. The router supports configuration via ssh-ing into it through command line prompts. So I was planning on using LabVIEW's system exec VI to run commands to a command line window that will control the router through ssh. That being said, in order to access the router through ssh, you need to be able to login to the router (give a password when prompted after a command is issues on the command line). As I'm a rookie with using the system exec VI, I wanted to ask a few questions to be sure this is feasible before wasting too much time on this approach. 

1. Is it possible to enter multiple commands, one after the other into the same command prompt window through labview's system exec VI, or any other VI? I see that this VI can run commands, I just want to ensure that it can execute multiple commands in a row. 

2. Is it possible to enter information when prompted, as described above, through LabVIEW? This is what I am more concerned about.

I would really appreciate any input anyone might have from experience in this area! If you would like any additional information, I would be more than happy to provide that. My apologies if these questions are elementary.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,523 Views)

@alexm1 wrote:

Hello everyone!