cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Representing data on XY graph (timing)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello I'm new to LabVIEW.

I have a problem on timming my data. My profesor ask me to send data throught the serial port every 10 ms (from the Arduino, sending data from an analogic input and its respective sampling time), this part is solved, and I have to represent it in the xy graph every 0.5 seconds. So I have made a program wich reads the data from the serial port every 10 ms, it splits the array that I am sending (data, time) and it represents it in the graph every 10 ms. If I want to represent it every 0.5 seconds how can I do it? Also in some cases the LabVIEW shows an error in the VISA write and sends me wrong data, do you know why this happens? So if you see any error or know something that I am doing wrong tell me. Thank you all.

This is my LabVIEW program: When i press the button the LabVIEW send me '1' throught the serial port to Arduino and then I start sending data to the LabVIEW
Es mostra LabVIEW.PNG.And there is the graphic with errors every x time. 
image.png
Error in the VISA Write
image.png
This is the data that I am sending from arduino. As you see there is the sample time, every 10 ms and the lecture from the analogic input, left to right respectively.
image.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,047 Views)

So do you only want to show a small fraction of values or do something more complicated, e.g. do a 0.5s running average?

To only plot a point every 0.5 seconds, simply place the graph related function and terminal inside another case structure that only turns true occasionally.

(Also note that "index array" can be resized for two outputs and "spreadsheet string to array" can produce 1D DBL arrays if you wire the type correctly)

@bernat_serra wrote: