LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Report Generation Toolkit, ActiveX Properties and Methods Missing

I would like to post my solution to a MS Office problem and present a question about what's going on.

We are updating all of our systems to newer versions of Windows and Microsoft Office.  After updating from many different versions/OS's to Windows 7 and Office 2016, older code stopped functioning properly with ActiveX calls in Microsoft Office.  I deploy all of my LabVIEW software as executables and distribute these EXE's where needed.

I have been using the Report Generation Toolkit for about 10 years now, to populate protected documents and inserting text into bookmark locations.  I dug down into the toolkit subVI's to find references to the Document and Application objects.  I then created a few VI's to deal with populating bookmark locations and other tasks related to bookmarks.  We also lock these template files so that they can not be altered using the Office password protections.  I dealt with property nodes and invoke nodes on those Office objects.  With Office 2016, by default, office would open certain files in 'Read-Only' mode.  This essentially stopped my code from manipulating word documents.  See the bottom of this post for the picture of the solution (it's silly).

Until exploring this issue I have been running LabVIEW 2017 (32-bit) with Office 2007.  I believe that before changing anything in my development system these ActiveX methods and properties had gone missing.  Perhaps this had to do with installing LV2017.  Originally I had installed both the 32 bit and the 64 bit environment.  I removed the 64 bit environment because I had not intended to develop for 64 bit just yet.  

Questions: