From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remove elements from picture control

I'd like to selectively remove some elements i previously drew on a 2D picture control (with functions such as "Draw line", "Draw rect"...). The rest of the picture, including what was "behind" them, should stay untouched.

Actually, i already managed to do it by "hacking": the picture data is incremental, so i can Flatten to String and carefully remove part of the data, if i memorized the length of data before and after drawing the element i want to remove. But perhaps you know better ways...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,953 Views)

Hello,

I'm new to drawing on pictures but what I do is draw various lines over a picture in response to user actions. Lines are added or taken away. 

I maintain an array of all the line segments I wish to draw, and I add to or remove from that array.It is independent of the picture.

Then when I need to change the picture with lines, I simply reload the original picture and draw all the lines again from the array with all the current lines I want.

This works well, however I wonder whether it wastes time reloading my original "background" picture each time. Quite a large bmp.

Hopefully someone else with more experience may suggest a more efficient way.

===============================================================

Take a look at DATEx, FOTEx, HELEx & SIGEx add-in trainer boards for NI ELVIS 1,2 & 2+ and DXIQ, ESSB for NI ELVIS III and myDSP for myDAQ to learn Wireless Telecoms, Signals & Systems, Fiber Optics and Green Energy principles (www.emona-tims.com)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,940 Views)