cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Random Number not updating

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

This is probably a dumb question, but I sincerely don't know how to fix this. I am still learning LabVIEW.

I have a simple code where I want the random number to be changing in each run of the while loop, and be an input into another VI were the numbers are displayed on a graph. But it is not working. After the first random value is generated, nothing else is generated. I have tried everything I know. 

Please help me.

Thank you very much.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,487 Views)

I can't open your newer version (I'm only on LV 2015), so please include an older version or a Snippet of your code, so that I can better assist you.

My guess is you may be misunderstanding the dataflow in your VI and aren't running the random number function more than once.

LabVIEW programming is based entirely on dataflow and parallelism. This is incredibly powerful and has lead to its success over the years (coupled with the graphical programming), but is usually one of the first things that new developers stumble over. Here's a simple resource to become more familiar with how it works. The Highlight Execution feature is a great way to watch how your application utilizes dataflow.

Cheers

--------,       Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines                                           ,--------

'---   >The shortest distance between two nodes is a straight wire>   ---'

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,484 Views)

You have a while loop within a while loop for no obvious reason and no way to stop the inner while loop. By data flow your while loop gets the number outside its loop and never gets updated within the loop. The inner while never stops so your value is never updated.

Update the value within the while loop, and no need for the inner while loop, I disabled it below. See below.

Snap3.png

mcduff

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,479 Views)
Solution