LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RT-Linux memory - Shared Variables?

Hello,

I am somewhat new to real-time development and have an application that will be running on a cRIO-9040. It uses network shared variables to communicate to HMIs over a network. I'm having an issue where over the course of about 24 hours, the real-time application eats up all the memory on the cRIO and it crashes out. Right now the only thing that stands out to me in the application is that it currently uses shared variable "Nodes" instead of programmatic reads and writes. Is that a likely culprit for creating a memory leak? I haven't found any clear documentation telling me not to use shared variable nodes in a loop. I'm currently going through and replacing those nodes with programmatic reads and shift registers to hold the variable refnums. Am I on the right track, or should I be looking at something different?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,065 Views)

@ProbablyPete wrote:

Hello,

I am somewhat new to real-time development and have an application that will be running on a cRIO-9040. It uses network shared variables to communicate to HMIs over a network. I'm having an issue where over the course of about 24 hours, the real-time application eats up all the memory on the cRIO and it crashes out. Right now the only thing that stands out to me in the application is that it currently uses shared variable "Nodes" instead of programmatic reads and writes. Is that a likely culprit for creating a memory leak? I haven't found any clear documentation telling me not to use shared variable nodes in a loop. I'm currently going through and replacing those nodes with programmatic reads and shift registers to hold the variable refnums. Am I on the right track, or should I be looking at something different?