From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question related to stopping sub vi loop

I have a Main Vi that calls a DAQ engine sub vi using the asynchronous start and wait methods. My main VI is going to be used to display analog in voltage to a chart as the engine is running. My issue is that I'm not sure how to go about stopping the read portion of my DAQ engine from the main vi. I see that I could use global variables, but where I work they are kind of against using globals. 

Sorry if anything i said is unclear, I am a novice in labview and just looking for some good examples or tips

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(3,358 Views)

Gaffinator,

Just off the top of my head you could use a Functional Global Variable. These are similar to Global variables, but help get rid of race conditions that global variables cause.

You could also use something like an occurrence. These are similar to queues, or notifiers, but are very basic form of these. There is a LabVIEW example of this in the example finder.

Hope this helps!

Message 2 of 21
(3,348 Views)

In general, you should have some type of messaging system to your asynchronous processes.  I tend to use a Queue or User Event for sending messages.  In this case, one of the messages would be "Stop".  In similar situations, I often will have messages for "Start" and "Pause" as well.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 3 of 21
(3,301 Views)

Hey thanks for the reply!