cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

QPSK Modulation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I ran the example "MT niFGen PSK Signal Generation.vi" in the ../examples/modulation/FGEN examples with my PXI-5422 AWG, however the waveform that was generated and loaded to the AWG does not look like what I would expect for a phase modulated signal (please see attached).

Does anyone know why?

Thanks,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,218 Views)

Hello,

It seems that increasing the symbol rate helps with the shape of the modulated signal.  It now looks more like  a QPSK modulated signal. The default value that came with the example was 100.0K, I changed it to 20M and it does look better I think, I might not have enough symbols per unit time in the previous picture. However I am not sure at which rate I should set. I am very new to this and just started learning QPSK mod/demod technique.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(4,168 Views)

Be careful with "textbook" definitions. QPSK is also known as 4-QAM...quadrature amplitude modulation. Both shapes you've shown are accurate, but it depends on the specification of the signal, as you have discovered. What you choose is dependent on what you are trying to achieve.

What is it you are trying to do?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(4,154 Views)

Hi Raceybe,