From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programmatically Save Excel Chart as PNG Files

Hi all:

I'm very new to ActiveX and its Automation functions so I need some guidance.

I'm trying save an Excel chart as a PNG image.

The chart was not created by LabVIEW; LabVIEW just copies data into a template with the chart configured to dynamically detect ranges and plot the corresponding data. (I'm not sure how Excel recognizes the chart - MSObject or MSChart?)

Here's what I've done so far but it isn't working (attached) - Error pops up immediately after the ActiveX Variant to Data VI. (Index of graph is 0 - no other objects in the file)

Any help or advice will be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,459 Views)

You should post your code as a VI snippet or attach your VI so that others could try to run/modify your code.

(Normally I like screenshots because I can see them without having to open LabVIEW but in this case, it would be useful to be able to modify the code...I'm not going to re-create it from scratch!!)

My suspicion is that the 'Item' you get out of the 'Sheets' node is a 'Sheet' rather than a 'Chart' so trying to convert back from the variant is failing. Either that or the items are 1-indexed instead of 0-indexed?

LabVIEW Champion, CLA, CLED, CTD
(blog)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,408 Views)

Is it an especially hard chart to generate? It might be easier to generate the graph in LabVIEW (even if it's a hidden indicator) and then save that as a .png, but I don't know your specific requirement.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(3,348 Views)

VyRianS a écrit :

Hi all:

I'm very new to ActiveX and its Automation functions so I need some guidance.

I'm trying save an Excel chart as a PNG image.