LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programmable control system software using LabVIEW

Hi everyone, I'm new to LabVIEW and haven't had any past experience using it. I have been given a task to create a program which is capable of inputting a set point temperature profile and communicating this profile to a PID controller. The PID controller will connect to a power supply and have it regulate current and voltage to a heater to obtain the set point temperature profile. A thermocouple will be used for feedback to the PID controller. Throughout the process there also needs to be a data logging function. In the lab we have an Agilent 34970A data logger.

I wish to ask what sort of information about hardware I need to start this project and how I can use labVIEW to firstly create a program for the set point profiles, and have it communicate and program into the PID controller this profile?

Note: Sorry if my explanations sounds noob, I've had very little software engineering experience.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,104 Views)

Many of your questions can be answered by reading the programming manual for your controller. Most use a regular serial port for hardware and don't need additional hardware. The software is generally either SCPI or a proprietary protocol. Some controllers use a GPIB interface which will require a GPIB controller in your PC. As for logging, you can retrieve some information from your PID controller. If you need to log from your Agilent hardware, you should be able to communicate with it via your serial port (a separate port from the one talking with your PID controller.) NI offers GPIB controllers for pretty much any PC configuration you might have.