LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programing Instrument Assistant with Keithley 236 SMU

Hi,

I am trying to program a Keithley SMU to Instrument assistant in Labview. However, I do not know what commands to issue. The manual has codes, but everytime I put a different one in for the command..... I get the same token value. Can someone instruct me on how to sync the SMU to the Instrument assistant? Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,593 Views)
Why are you trying to use the Instrument I/O Assistant instead of the driver?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,587 Views)
Because my P.I. wants the SMU to run in unison with this temperature program as opposed to after another. He said it would be benificial to use Instrument assistant to help with that. He already used Instrument Assistant to convert the temp program (fairly easy), now I need to do the same but with the SMU (a lot harder). This is my first project. I don't know anything about programing. I've read the manuals, but things just don't seem to work out as noted in my first post.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,583 Views)
I have no idea what a P.I. is but he obviously does not know much about LabVIEW or programming either. A driver is merely a set of VIs and no different than the Instrument I/O Assistant. The big difference is that someone has already written the code to communicate to the instrument instead of you reinventing the wheel with the assistant. If you are just beginning, it makes absolutely no sense to not use the driver. The driver would be much better suited to running in parallel with some other bit of code.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,576 Views)