From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Producer Consumer Data Acquisition Multiple Channels

Hello all,

I am a student at university working on my senior project and am having some troubles using LabView.

I am currently trying to implement a producer consumer format, tdms writing program for multiple analog input channels on my CDaq 9205. Producer loop iterates very quickly and consumer follows writing values to file from queue at slower speed.

I have passed values from loops using local variables in the past, many say this is a no-no and I agree. Doing this I have found data dropped when writing to file. This result has led to my attempt at producer consumer data acquisition and logging.

The goal is to acquire the analog inputs from my transducers in the producer loop and then send the values to my consumer loop for data writing. This is concurrent with using LabView GUI to visualize transducer outputs through experiment.

The biggest issue is the following: I want to scale my data before writing to file. I do not want to log raw voltage. I would like to do as little post processing of data as possible.

I would like to acquire raw data from transducers very quickly, 25-50kHz. I would also like to prompt the user to specify how many samples per second they want to write. Max samples per second writing to file ~25ks/s. 

I am currently getting the following error at continuous data acquisition speeds larger than 1kHz:

"The application is not able to keep up with the hardware acquisition.

Increasing the buffer size, reading the data more frequently, or specifying a fixed number of samples to read instead of reading all available samples might correct the problem."