LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems communicating with ethernet device

Hi everyone, I'm a noob to LabVIEW and I'd like some help~

The GPIO device https://numato.com/docs/32-channel-ethernet-gpio-module-with-analog-inputs/  I'm using is only configurable over Ethernet. In order to configure it I will have to log in to the TCP/IP connection. I could control the I/Os with Hyper Terminal. Now I want to control it with LabVIEW but I don't know how to log in wirelessly within LabVIEW.

I know this is pretty dumb but how can I enter username and password after reading? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,687 Views)

According to the manual for your Device (thank you for providing the link!), this is really a "Serial" device that can communicate either over an Ethernet port (using a Serial Communication over Ethernet program such as PuTTY) or as a Serial Port over the USB connection.

LabVIEW knows how to do Serial Communication with VISA, and you can communicate to a Serial Device (which is what you really have) either through USB or through TCP/IP.  Here's what I'd suggest you try:

1. Plug your device into your PC.  I recommend that you connect both via USB and via Ethernet.  Note that you cannot plug your device directly into your PC with an "ordinary" Ethernet Cable -- you need to use a "Cross-over" cable, or, better, plug the device in the same Network as your PC.
    • The easiest way to do the latter is if you have a router, say to connect to WiFi, and it has Ethernet ports as well, plug into an Ethernet Port, and plug your PC into another Ethernet port.
  2. Open MAX.
  3. Look at Devices and Interfaces.  What you hope to find is your device, possibly showing up as a VISA device, a USB device, and/or a "Network" device.  If you don't find it, or don't understand what MAX is showing you, expand all of the entries in Devices and Interfaces and reply with a picture of what MAX is showing you.