LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with VISA Read

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am very new to LabVIEW and not really used to working with electronics so please bear with me. 

I found this VI online and am using it to verify whether I have successful connection with a temperature chamber (TestEquity Model 115A if that helps). I connected my PC with the temperature chamber through ethernet and I believe they are communicating by TCP/IP. I have successfully used PuTTY to send a simple command (*IDN?) and received the appropriate response. However, both using NI-VISA Visa Interactive Control and the posted VI yielded either one of 2 errors. 

The following error appears when I only have the return carriage control character:

Error -1073807298 occurred at VISA Read in visa.vi

VISA:  (Hex 0xBFFF0015) Timeout expired before operation completed.

The following error is the other one that appears when I only have the newline control character:

Error -1073807298 occurred at VISA Read in visa.vi

VISA:  (Hex 0xBFFF003E) Could not perform operation because of I/O error. 

When I put neither \n nor \r I receive either of the above errors; sometimes it is the timeout and sometimes it is the I/O error. 

I am not sure why the script isn't running; I am expecting the front panel to show the result of *IDN? properly just as on PuTTY. 

I have tried changing the byte count in the VI Read to higher values such as 1000, turning off wifi to ensure that VISA is using the Ethernet path, and not sure what else to try.

Anything that might help at all would be greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(6,356 Views)

The timeout error occurs even if you get data, if the number of bytes read is less than the number of bytes specified. Drop an indicator on the "return count" pin of the "VISA Read" vi, to see how much data you're actually getting. If it's what you expect, you can simply clear the timeout error.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22