LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with Serial Communication

Hello all,

I am new to LabVIEW so please pardon my ignorance. I am trying to communicate with a serial port using "Advanced Serial Write and Read.vi". I filled in the required information such as com#, baud rate, etc. A screen shot of this if shown below. The problem is when I run it I get the following error statement:

Error -1073807202 occurred at Property Node (arg 1) in VISA Configure Serial Port (Instr).vi->Advanced Serial Write and Read.vi

Possible reason(s):

LabVIEW:  (Hex 0xBFFF009E) VISA or a code library required by VISA could not be located or loaded.  This is usually due to a required driver not being installed on the system.

Do I have to install some specific labview drivers for generic com port communication? I can communicate just fine using some crappy communication software similar to hyperterminal, but I want to do it using LabVIEW. In case it makes a difference, I am using a USB to DB9 converter.

Thanks,

Matt

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,758 Views)

That error message is very clear you need NI-VISA to be installed.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,755 Views)

I don't know if you are trying to be snide, but I obviously dont know what a "NI-VISA" is. This is my first attempt to use LabVIEW to communicate with the serial port and I have very limited LabVIEW experience in general.

So, if you don't mind. What is an NI-VISA and how do I find/install it?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,742 Views)

It is a driver that support a variety of instrument control protocols. You can switch from RS-232 serial to TCP/IP to GPIB and not have to change your driver. It can be found on the NI site Support/downloads. It is usually packaged on the CD's with GPIB and some other NI drivers.

Message 4 of 9
(2,739 Views)

NI VISA

-------
Mark Ramsdale
-------
Message 5 of 9
(2,732 Views)