cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem: Fitting Lev-Mar with Error Function

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I have very little experience with LabVIEW and I'm trying for the first time to do some NonLinear Curve fit for some data I have.
I've searched in forums for almost a day and couldn't find what I need. The problems are:

1) I need to fit a function of the following type: P = Po/2 - Po/2*erf(sqrt(2)*(x-xo)/w) , where Po, xo and w are my parameters.

But in my error2.vi I cannot link my y=sqrt(2)*(x-xo)/w  variable of the erf function to the input, because the erf.vi does not accept 1D array as input and doesn't give that as output as well. The output thing is another problem, since the input of F(x,a) needs to be a 1D array.

2) I read about the Lev-Mar NonLinear CurveFit VI and I think I got what needs to be done. However, a I was having problems in wiring my Static VI Reference to the F(x,a) input in the Lev-Mar VI and it didn't give me a broken wire only when I made de Reference a "Strictly Typed VI Reference". What does that mean? Why did it only work with that?

I know these are some pretty basic doubts, but I've been trying to understand it for quite some time and couldn't get this done.

Thanks.

PS* The fitting function (subvi) is the error2.vi file.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,570 Views)

For the model, you need to start with the template mentioned in the help page (seems you did that). The model needs to be strictly typed, because the model subVI needs to match the required connector pattern exactly.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,557 Views)

Thanks!

And do you know anything about the use of "Error Function"? I found only a few references to it in the web and I don't understand how to make it work...

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,547 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Yuri94

Try this. Seem to work  just fine (LabVIEW 2013).

(don't try to graph the best parameters, graph the best fit output!)