LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PID temperature control

Hi everyone,

I made a temperature control  program in labview and used the PID.vi for that.

The input to the PID is the temperature measured by a thermocouple and the output is a voltage that controls the power supply for a heating element.If I set a setpoint, the program even begins to regulate.

However, the problem now is that the output of the PID.vi remains at 100% of the heating power,so at the maximum voltage, until reaching the setpoint and only then begins to regulate down. Therefore, the temperature still rises to + 5 ° C above the setpoint and then oscillates around the setpoint with this deviation.

I've already tried a P controller by setting the I and D parts to false, but got the same result.

So what am I doing wrong? Unfortunately, I have no experience with PID regulation and have been working with Labview for a short time.
Message 1 of 6
(4,045 Views)

Hi magic,

So what am I doing wrong?

- you don't attach your VI.

- you don't supply any "hard " data (like temperatue curves, used PID gains, any Ziegler-Nichols experimental data, …)

I've already tried a P controller by setting the I and D parts to false, but got the same result.

Using just the P gain will not avoid overshoot…

I have no experience with PID regulation

Read a book on control mechanism.

Or Wikipedia. Yes, really. Apply Ziegler-Nichols or any other suitable method!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(4,006 Views)

Open the LabVIEW Example Finder and search for Autotuning Smith Predictor.  

The example code uses a simulated "Plant" for responses, but the code can be easily adapted to actual IO.  I just did this last week for an application that had a blower and flow meter that were separated by a long distance.  There was that issue of "deadtime" to overcome.  

Google Smith Predictor and have a read.