From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PID output correlation

Hello guys,

I am a student who currently doing a small project with LabVIEW specifically with PID block. I could not understand the behavior of the PID output perfectly. I have played with the Example VI of PID controller from the library but still it did not help me that much. I have selected a parallel PID controller. I wanted to "turn off" the Integral part by putting in a very large value (10^15) and "turn off" the derivative part by putting in zero as a value.

Then when I increase my proportional gain, the steady state error also increase. But what I have learned in lectures is, when I increase the gain, the steady state error will decrease. Anyone could help me with a brief explanation? Smiley Sad

Thank you in advance!!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,754 Views)

The right way to turn off the integral gain is to set it to 0.  Otherwise you could still have some integral windup issues, which might explain what you're seeing.

Can you show a graph of the setpoint, process variable, and controller output?  What type of system is this (motion, temperature control, etc)?  Can you attach your LabVIEW code?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,742 Views)

Hello Nathand,

but the algorithm for the I controller is 1/Ti. So setting up the Ti value to 0 will produce infinity gain from the I controller. It is a temperature control program with large lags and time constant. The system is also considered as second order system as the lags are very big and there is oscillation as a steady state condition.