LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PID loop rate with counters

I'm trying to use a PXI-8106 RT and LabviewRT 8.5 as a PID controller to control 3 motors.  I'm measuring the speed of the motors by measuring the frequency of the encoder with a 6608.

This article http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/5423 claims a speed up to 107.5 khz.  I've set ethernet to polling and usb off, I didn't turn off  the CPU display, but I'll try that as soon as I can. However, I'm not anywhere close to 107khz, best I can get is about 10khz with one channel and about 2 khz with 3 channels.  I realize the tests were done with analog inputs, but I was hoping that  I'd get at least somewhere close using counters. With the 2Khz rate I really can't do what I need to do.

Does anyone know what a realistic rate would be with this setup?

I'm new at Labview so I may be doing something wrong, although I can't see what it could be. I've done quite a bit of research on the forums before I started to learn from other's examples.

Here's a couple of things I've learned  trying to optimize my loops.

Seems like Daqmx has some issues with applying a scale.  I have 2 scales, one is just a scale factor, 0.166, the other is .0002.  When applying the .0002 factor in Daqmx my performance takes  a huge hit, something like 10%!  If I just leave it at hz, and do the scaling myself I see no performance penalty.

There is something strange about the timed loop % display in RT8.5, I wrote my own routine using expected end, actual end time, and the period to give me a % loop useage and it matches very well to the RT8.5 display for most of the time, however, when the loop starts missing iterations because I've gone over 100% the RT display drops down to about 50% which pretty much makes it useless.