LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Options for file transfer to network share

As part of an automated software update fearture I'm writing for our manufacting test code, I'm exploring ways to transfer files between test stations and a Windows network share.

My current approach is to programatically map a drive to the network share, and then there's a 1-to-1 mapping of file paths for the file copies, byt changing the drive letters of the paths. This leaves a mapped drive open on each tester, which is a potential security risk, and although this can be closed at the end of the operation, I thought I should explore other options.

Ftp and Web DAV (which I have no experience with) may be options, but seem to require additional setup steps. What other options should I explore?

(4,862 Views)

For me the LabVIEW FTP palette has worked well if I want to save records off disk without a network share and I see it as adequate in terms of security for the LAN but if you want to send records across the WAN then you might like to look at one of the third party SSH/SFTP libraries.   

Greg Payne has produced one here http://www.labvolution.com/sftp-file-transfer-labview/ or there's another here http://sine.ni.com/nips/cds/view/p/lang/en/nid/210882.  I haven't used either of these but I imagine that Greg's will be very straightforward to deploy.

Have fun.

Simon

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,816 Views)

What's wrong with treating the Windows Network Share as an "ordinary device"?  I cobbled together the following demo just now:

Write Share.png

which, when run, had last mod = 8:02:02.000 AM, 2/14/2017, and produced Write Share Output.png

The "security risks" are no different than doing any other sort of file I/O -- you need read/write privileges on the Share, which are presumably controlled by your User credentials.  No muss, no fuss.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,801 Views)
@Bob_Schor wrote: