From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opening a large .mat file on Labview

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to using LabView so I hope my explainations will be clair enough.

Here is my problem :

I'm working on very large .mat files (about 400-500Mo). These are 3D maps, so on each file contains a 1D array for X, a 1D array for Y and a 2D array for Z.

I'm trying to collect the data from the 2D array Z.

I'm currently using the matio library to extract the data but the heavy files cause memory issues.

To solve that, I would need to know how to locate where is the Z array in the file to treat a smaller amount of data.

So I guess I'm looking for informations about how to use the matio library, or about how is a .mat file with multiple arrays built.

Thanks a lot for your answers.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,275 Views)

As it's a Matlab file i'd use a Matlab node and use matfile to extract part of the data, according to this:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/3947549/what-is-the-difference-between-m-and-mat-files-in-matlab

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(1,256 Views)

Thank you for your answer.

The thing is I'm trying to develop a software which will be used by other people.

I've already managed to extract a txt file of the 2D array thanks to scilab.

But it has to be an automaed process and it woulld not be convenient to ask the user to extract the file himself before using the software.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(1,239 Views)

Posting mobile here, so cannot show any examples.