LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not enough memory to complete operation when writing TDMS file.

Hello,

I am new to Labview and having a bit of trouble. I attach some code here. What I want to do is sample from a NI 9220 DAQ from 16 channels at 20kHz, while from a second NI 6009 sample from 4 channels at 1000 kHz. I want to append these together and then write to a TDMS file. 

I have tried to write this code using NIDAQmx VIs but when I have it has resulted in the two DAQs not having the right timing with each other. The 6009 samples for a longer time. 

I have now tried instead to use the DAQ assistant to read from the two VIs and it works in that TDMS files produced have the correct timing between the two DAQS. However, if I record for more than 2 minutes, in the end I want to end up recording for a much longer time, I have the "Not enough memory to complete operation" message appearing. This still happens even if I get rid of my charts to display the data, and also if I get rid of the NI 6009 completely and just keep the 9220 sampling at 20kHz. It happens even if I repalde my TDMS write and put a write measurement assistant in which I tell it to write a series of files that are each less than 2 minutes long. 

I think it is something to do with the amount of data I am reading and is being held in memory. What can I do about this? Also, my charts display very slowly, basically evey second when the 20k are read in. However if I lower the amount of data read the charts don't display all the data points. 

I attach my code, thanks for your help!

Alfredo 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,616 Views)

Yes, your code needs help:

Even if you delete those charts from your code (and it does reduce memory usage), those wires still need memory - think of them as "local variable" which are still used. However, I don't believe that's the reason you're getting error because you're not constantly appending to the array.