From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Question: Control DO on Exit

Hello,

I am brand new to LabVIEW and need to get a small project done quickly.  I have only really used Express VI's...

I do, however, have a DAQ and control system up and running (I'm sure it could be done much more efficiently, and I plan to refine as I learn)...

What I really need to know are two things:

1) How to ensure a pair of digital outputs are off on start-up (I have them default to off on power-up in DAQmx) but I mean on start-up of my VI.

2) How to ensure they're off on exit of the VI (no matter what the state of the toggle in the on screen, if they stop it, I need the outputs to go off).

Please can anyone give me some help, or an example?

-Jeff

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,793 Views)

You could just simply write falses to the digital lines at the very beginning of your program and again in your shutdown code.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,788 Views)

It sounds like you really need some sort of state machine architecture. This way you can have certain tasks that happen on start up, shutdown and anywhere in between. 

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3024/en

Message 3 of 11
(2,783 Views)

Cross,

Thank you, for the reply.

That's exactly what I'd do in language I was familiar with.  I literally just don't understand the graphical syntax yet.  The express VI's are all I've touched--even the loop and exit criteria were auto-generated by LabVIEW.