From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Labview

So I am new to Labview, like 3 days new, and am watching videos and going over discussion board but am still am a little over my head for my current assignment.  My current assignment is to:

- Generate a random set of N points (x,y) between 0 and 100

- Find the closest point to each point

- Calculate the number of points with a closest point of less than D

- Graph the points with the points with a closest point of less than D clearly marked

I found the generating a random set of N points easy.

Finding the closest point to each point I have tried a couple ways.  I first just tried to make a for loop comparing all the points to the initial and build an array.  Then used the array min & max but had trouble with creating the array after the loop. For some reason the loop would only run once.

Then I tried using the 2-D interpolate with the nearest function, but I don't know if that would work.

I understand this is a "nearest neighbor" scenario but am not quite sure how to continue.

I am going to continue watching videos and continue working on the issue.  I would greatly appreciate any help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,039 Views)

@dwhamm wrote:

Finding the closest point to each point I have tried a couple ways.  I first just tried to make a for loop comparing all the points to the initial and build an array.  Then used the array min & max but had trouble with creating the array after the loop. For some reason the loop would only run once.

What kind of loop are you using. How many times do you expect it to run?