LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with a sequential testing program

Hi everyone.  I'm relatively new to Labview, and I would appreciate some help with a challenge I am having.  I've been searching for days to try to find the eact way to approach and solve this code.  I would think it would be relatively common and straightforward, but I can't find any examples or documentation of exactly how to do this.

I currently have a working VI I programmed that allows a user to enter gas flow setpoints (for mass flow controllers), which are then converted to voltages and sent to a compact Fieldpoint module CFP-2110.  However, the program only works in real time; my desire is to allow someone to fill out a table specifying a time schedule of gas flow rates.  The program would then run sequentially, outputting each flow rate case for the specified amount of time before moving onto the next.  A simplified example of the table would be:

0 minutes - Flow rates array 1

1.5 minutes - Flow rates array 2

2.5 minutes - Flow rates array 3

4 minutes - Flow rates array 4

Granted, these wouldn't be using separate arrays but rather subarrays of some large input array, but I hope this explains my goal.

I have tried a while loop with nested case structure, but the problem with this is that it only outputs the final value of the case once it is complete, while I need the program to output each case at the desired time.  I know this is normal behavior for case structures and while loops, so I assume they are not the answer to this.  I can't find a structure or coding method that would output the intermediate values.  I have tried notifications as well, but this seems to have the same behavior of only outputting the final value.  Of course, with my limited experience I may be implementing notifications incorrectly, so I'm not taking that as meaning that notifications cannot be the solution.