LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with a RS232 LabView program

Hello Community,

I hope that this is the right forum to post my question.

I am 100% new to LabView. I am a PhD student and I need to control/monitor a device with RS232 port in my lab. As the supported software for the device is ~15 years old, it doesn't support 64bit. So the support jsut said I'd have to "program" it myself with e.g. LabView. They send me some commands in order to control/monitor the device. Now....as I am a complete noob with LabView I was hoping that there maybe is like a RS232 GUI for a similar device. So that I would not have to start from scratch as this would takes days/weeks (at least for me to figure out how LabView works). I guess the commands are not to difficult, but setting everything up in LabView would be. Attached you'll find the 3 pages they've sent me in order to figure it out by myself (or hopefully together with you).

Thank you very much for your support.

Greetings 🙂

page1.PNG

page2.PNG

page3.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 44
(2,642 Views)

Hi Torracc,

It's likely you'll have to do at least some programming yourself (unless you either a) hire someone or b) are studying at OIST, in which case come find me) but it shouldn't be too challenging, especially if you're familiar with other forms of computer programming.

(Written after I wrote a bit more): Perhaps the 0th thing to do is quickly read over some of the training materials here (LabVIEW Basics) , or look at the videos here...

The first thing to do is search for an example in LabVIEW - open the IDE then go to Help > Find Examples... and search for VISA.

Open something like "Simple Serial".

The next thing is to look at the connection settings (section 1.1) and then match them in the inputs to Configure VISA Serial Port. Take particular note of the "end of message delimiter" and set this as your "Termination Char(acter)". 0x0D is 13 in decimal format.