LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with DAQ assistant

Hello there,

I am new to LabVIEW, so, I am not sure if something is wrong with my software or with the parameters I had given for my program. 

I am using DAQ assistant for data acquisition, collecting data from an accelerometer. I had configured my DAQ assistant to collect 1000 samples with a rate of 100 Hz, in N sample mode. So, I am expecting the program to collect 1000 samples in 10 seconds and stop the collection process. But instead I would get 1000 samples in 0.605 seconds and then the program would stop collecting data. 

I would like to know what the issue is here, so, it would be helpful if anyone could tell me what the issue is. 

(Find my code and images in the attachments) 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,651 Views)

It's a bad idea to try to collect 10 seconds worth of data.  It is too close to the default timeout of 10 seconds for DAQmx functions.

What DAQ device are using?  Not all devices can handle any given rate.  Some are only able to acquire at a limited set of rates.  So you might think you are acquiring at 100 Hz, but it will be coerced to something else like 166 Hz if that is the closest rate the device supports.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,635 Views)

I am using NI cDAQ-9174 for the data acquisition.

As I am new to LabVIEW,  I am not familiar with the ''time out'' parameter, so, if possible try to give me some details regarding this too.

And even though if it's acquiring data at 166 Hz, why is it taking only 0.605 seconds to get 1000 samples?

Even if I use 1000 samples with 1000 Hz rate, it would still do the same.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,631 Views)

In addition to what RavensFan said, you have two channels in the task and you're acquiring 1000 samples per channel, which is 2000 samples total.  Even if you were actually acquiring at 100Hz, this would take 20seconds to complete, not 10. 

aputman
------------------