From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help understanding how to license development and target machines during development/debug

I would like to get a better understanding of how the licensing of a LabVIEW Full Development System is intended to be used in conjunction with the application builder and deployment on multiple target systems.  For example, this the following scenario:

• I am a developer and have LabVIEW Full Development System licensed and installed on my laptop to do software development.  However I have multiple target systems which consist of  industrial PC's with PCI-e data acquisition cards etc
  • Each target system is functionally different and requires it's own specific software.  So for me to test and debug my application on each of the target systems I would also need to install the LabVIEW Full Development System.
  • Once my applications are finished they would be deployed using the application builder so that my end customer does not have access to source code.

My questions are as follows:

1. In a scenario such as above how is the licensing of the LabVIEW Full Development System intended to work?  Would I have to keep moving my license from my laptop to the target system I am working on?  How easy is this if the target systems are not connected to the internet? 
  2. Or does NI expect me to buy multiple development licenses, one for each target system even though the target system will only ship to the customer with executable from the application builder?
  3. Is there something I am missing??

Any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

Paul

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,792 Views)