cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple timers with different stop conditions

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am working on a simple vi to read the temperature output of a thermocouple, and start 3 timers, counting up, that will stop when the temperature reaches each threshold (80, 85, 90F). I started by creating a vi(attached) that successfully tracks the time to reach 80, but I am struggling to implement all three timers simultaneously.

I tried to create separate while loops within the main loop with separate stop conditions tied to the value being read from the thermocouple for each of the timers, but the temperature was only passed into each loop once because the DAQ read function can't be inside multiple loops. 

I have a feeling that I'm making this more complicated than it needs to be, but I'm still very new to Labview and it seems there are a lot of different options around timers out there. I appreciate any help you all can give me!

-Bryan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(474 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Bryan7

See if this can give you some ideas....

altenbach_0-1720485715202.png

altenbach_1-1720485834095.png

Message 2 of 6
(433 Views)

Small modification, now with correct x-scale

Message 3 of 6
(411 Views)

Hey Altenbach,

Thank you very much! The functionality of this program is exactly what I'm looking to do. I have never seen or used several of the things you have utilized, and I'm working on understanding them. 

The top shift register creates the array for the 3 timers as an array and passes it through each loop/to the display. The relative seconds timer is adding the difference between the current value and the previous loop value, yes? Context help shows me that the right facing arrow is a feedback node (seems very useful!), but what is the piece attached to the bottom of it? This seems critical to the operation of the timers themselves and it looks like the value is wired separately into both parts?