From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple simultaneous AI voltage measurement and varying sampling rates virtually

Hello. 

I have a two part question regarding a voltage measurement I'm trying to build. I have no prior DAQmx experience so the first question is simple:

How should I build multiple measurements to execute at the same time? I tried building parallel measurement branches in to the example in the attachment but apparently I cant run two tasks at the same time? I would like to get multiple measurement from multiple DAQ modules. 

Second question is: can I (or should I) vary sampling rates virtually with for example a for loop? I would need to record voltages logarithmically so that I have fast sampling speeds in the beginning and it slows down. Is there a better way of doing this? When Im done with the program (and after upgrading my module) I should have measurements at 1 MS/s in the beginning and 1 S/s in the end. In between around 30-50k samples. 

At the moment I have NI 9205 modules for testing but Im planning on upgrading to NI 9223 later for faster sampling speeds. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,344 Views)

1. The easiest way to take multiple measurements at the same time is to combine those multiple channels into a single task.  cDAQ supports a feature known as channel expansion which allows you to do this even if you're combining channels from different modules.

2. No, don't try to change sample rate with a For loop.  You'd be stopping and restarting the acquisition, thus missing data during the idle time.  Perform acquisition at your highest sampling rate and post-process it afterward to create your logrithmically-varying sample rate.

-Kevin P