From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modifying the Sound File to Sound Output VI

Hi there,

I am very new to LabVIEW and I am currently making a VI for an electronic drum for a college project. 

I was wondering if its possible to modify the Sound File to Sound Output VI so that it has an input which stops and starts the VI.

Basically I have the VI within in a case structure. When the drum is hit, the case structure is true, the Sound File to Sound Output VI plays a sample. When false, it does nothing.  The problem is when i hit the drum, the Sound File to Sound Output VI waits for the sound to end before another sound is played again from a hit.

I tried adding a boolean switch connecting to a Compund Arithmetic OR box which is then connected to STOP in the while lop within the Sound File to Sound Output VI. Then made the switch an input for a SubVI using the connector pane. But when I run the Sound File to Sound Output VI now I get a sound card error.

Any help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,225 Views)

Zerroth -

LabVIEW works in a way that when an action is iniciated, in this case the Sound File to Sound Output VI  the following action (stop sound) will only execute when the Sound File to Sound Output VI has finished.

I'm guessing you are trying to work out drum patterns and drum rolls. which is why you would need to receive a new input before it finishes, am I right?

The way I see it you are limited by the size of your sound file, and your DAQ card, LV can make acquisitions in speeds in the mille seconds, If your sound is that short you can make drum rolls no problem.

As far as I see with some local variables you could make a full drum kit.