LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mechanical ventilator simulation

Hello! Im doing my master  thesis ( "Simulation of mechanical respirator and telemonitoring of the device and the patient" ) in Labview. I faced with the problem of simulating volumen of lung during respiration. Volumen as a function of time is modeled with equations ( inspiration and expiration 😞

V(t)=C1+C2(exp(-t/0,5)

V(t)=C1+C2(1-exp(-t/0,5))

How to make from this signals one periodic signal  where I can modify amplitude and frequency? I suppose that the problem is quite simple but i can't see the solution at this moment. Thank you all for your time. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(7,164 Views)

Hi MMozart,

There are a couple of options- although some more details would be helpful.   Are you wanting to combine these two equations into one?  What have you tried so far?

As far as some options, take a look at the Mathscript node, the formula node, or the expression node.  formula_node.png

Kristen H.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(7,136 Views)

Hello Kristen,

Firstly, thank you for you time.

Respiration model can be devided in two parts : inspiration and expiration. Inspiration is modeled using function Vinsp(t)=C1+C2(1-exp(-t/0,5) and expiration si modele using function  Vexp(t)=C1+C2(exp(-t/0,5)).I would like to generet signal as shown on Figure ( blue line ) and show generated signal on scope or graph.  After that signal values will be extracted  every 2 minutes and that would make a log of patient respiration during tretmant with mechanical ventilator. Also, i need to change amplitude ( tidal volume of lung ) and frequency ( breath per minute ) without distorting signal ( incomplete rising or falling edges ).

2.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(7,127 Views)

Hi MMozart,