From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MASTER/SLAVE PATTERN: how to stop slave loop without stop main loop

Hi All, I am studying the master/slave loop and saw an examples are like this (only master block shows)

master.gif

From this case, as I understand, if we click "set" button, slave loop will run. If we click this button again to mak it "Flase", the slave loop will be stopped as well as the main loop will be stopped as well.

Now if I have a multi-function main loop, I just want to start or stop slave loop when click "set" button, how can I do it? Thank you very much! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,170 Views)

Your picture doesn't show how the master loop is stopped.

The Set Value event is just putting the string "Set Pressed" into the notifier.  It doesn't matter whether the set button is being pressed to make it true, or pressed to make it false.  Either way, a False constant is being sent to this loop's stop terminal.  There must be some other event in that event structure (possibly a Stop button Value event?) to stop the master loop.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(3,164 Views)

Hi RavensFan, could you share with me any examples you have for master/slave structure? Yesterday you advised me to look for producer/consumer pattern, it is very useful. And I found that master/slave structure is the most suitable one to solve my problem.

But I cannot find any vi file to show how this pattern works, do you have that? The picture is from an internet example, but it is only a picture, not the real vi.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(3,160 Views)

Hi RavensFan, I want to decribe the code and what I want in more detail and hope you can help me.