LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loop/Array Help

So I'm brand new to LabVIEW, and I need to use loops and arrays in a more complicated problem so I started with a simple program to make sure I know how. Turns out I don't...I was expecting the array to become [0,1,2,3,4] but nothing happens when I hit run. Screenshot is attached. The function block is "Insert into Array".

A few things:

Its my understanding that Arrays in LabVIEW will dynamically change size (like an ArrayList in java), but correct me if I'm wrong.

Also, I could not for the life of me figure out how to make an array with both an input and output, so thats why I created the variable (if I had to guess, thats why it doesn't work).

Sorry for such an elementary question, and thanks in advance for any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,953 Views)

Try using "build array" with a shift register. Insert into array confuses many a new LabVIEW programmer. That will actually insert an element into the array shifting all elements below it down. You'd want to use "replace array subset" instead of insert into array in most cases, which overwrites a value at a specific index. 

For this particular problem you can use autoindexing. Just wire the i terminal out of your for loop and it will create an autoindexing terminal. No array functions needed. Also, remove your local variable. Right click your wire and select create indicator instead.

I would suggest googling LabVIEW 3 and 6 hour tutorials. Take those and they should cover these basics.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,932 Views)

@for(imstuck) wrote:

That will actually insert an element into the array shifting all elements below it down.

You probably wanted to say "... shifting all elements above it up". 😉

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(2,912 Views)