LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Listen for IP address from wago plc

First off I am new to the forms, so hello.

Also, I am new to coding in Labview and Wago plcs.

What I am trying to do is listen when the plc is connected and receive its IP address so that i can start transmitting data via modbus.

I am able to communicate with the plc if I have the IP address.

But, I am not sure what the Listen function are looking for as so that is could program the Wago to send the appropriate signal.

Thanks 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,563 Views)

hello and welcome,

i am unfamiliar with "Wago plcs", but as far as i know Modbus is a protocol over RS485 (or Serial). But you suggest it is over IP/Ethernet.

in the first case, finding an IP address doesen't help you.

finding a device with IP address might be either via ARP protocol (if you know the MAC address) or just by brute force.

i can't say i know how to do it with labview primitives, but you could use the "System Exec.vi" to use the toolchain of your OS.

If Tetris has taught me anything, it's errors pile up and accomplishments disappear.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,539 Views)

Hello in this link there is a description of the library used for communication Wago to  LV.

I also attach this link where you can download the library and some examples.

Roger Garcia, Certified LabVIEW Developer

HTML tutorial

There are two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,522 Views)

@jwscs wrote:

but as far as i know Modbus is a protocol over RS485 (or Serial). But you suggest it is over IP/Ethernet.

I have done Modbus over RS-232 and there is a standard for Modbus over Ethernet (there are just some minor tweaks between the serial and Ethernet versions).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines