LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large data Application

Dear Community,

I have a requirement to develop a program with large datasets. Normally when working with small or medium datasets I use clusters that contain all data needed and that are available in each case of my state machine using shift registers.

I am thinking about what alternatives to use instead of shifting clusters with large data sets in the new program. I was thinking about using FGV to set and get data values or even go object oriented. I am new to OOP. One question I am asking myself is:

If I define the class data to be the large cluster data then what is the best way to implement class methods to read and set the values of the class data cluster. Bearing in mind that sometimes i just want to read/update one, another time up to 300 or 400 values.

Appreciate your feedback.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,531 Views)

How much is "large"? It may be that your approach passing the data around a shift register would work fine, have you seen issues? Don't change things unless you actually need to.

If you are actually going to change things, an FGV isn't going to help, these are used for encapsulating functions or making data available without a wire, not for solving large data problems.

A class is also not inherently helpful. This is also for encapsulation purposes (and others I won't go into). The class is still pretty much just a cluster on the wire.

If you have large data problems (typically RAM memory issues), there are various methods which could help. Post your VI and a bit more information such as how fast data is being acquired and how big the data array gets. Careful array manipulation can solve most issues, often using the in-place element structure.

Ian
LabVIEW since 2012
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,508 Views)