LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large applications - Labview and other programming languages

Hello Labview Users,

as the forum saw this very interesting thread about large applications programmed in Labview
(see: http://sine.ni.com/niforum/niforum?requireLogin=False&forumDU=http://forums.ni.com/ni/board/message?... ) I would like to ask the community about their experiences with Labview applications in combination with other programming languages.
In advance: I have several years of experience in programming Labview applications starting from quick-and-dirty solutions which had to run within few hours and complex test solutions. I saw Labview growing and becoming better with the released versions and lot of things I missed in former times got implemented in the meantime. Actually I have to develop a complexe ATE solution with numerous equipment to control and numerous data to be captured and archived. Despite the Verison 8 I still feel still some drawbacks of the LV concept which let me hestitate to setup the solution completly in Labview:

1) It is alway hard to re-use code of complex applications since it is not possible to do some kind of global search an replace of functions
variables etc. It nearly impossible to re-use approved code structures (e.g a state machine) if the "inner part" is changing more the a little bit.
2) If the application requires a certain flexibility (e.g. exchangeable test equipment of varying vendors) this is hard to implement since you have to define a lot of parameters through your hierarchy if you dont want use global variables which slow down your application and hide
the code functionality.
3) Despite modern PCs the look and feel of LV applications appears somewhat slow compared to other applications. For complex user interfaces the polling methode generates a lot of complex code. (I dont have expierence with the event-structure).

Now my questions: