cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lag Issues When Stopping LabVIEW Code Execution

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am a student studying LabVIEW.
I would like to ask about an issue where the system lags when stopping LabVIEW code after execution.

To explain in detail, after running LabVIEW code that collects data and pressing the stop button, the code does not stop immediately, and the screen freezes. The longer the code runs, the longer the screen remains frozen.

At this time, as shown in the first picture, the hard disk usage reaches 94%, and the write speed becomes abnormally slow (around a few hundred KB/s).

Since the hard disk is new, I don't think it's a hardware failure.
Is this a common issue? Do others experience this problem as well?

Thank you for reading.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(214 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author wlsrb2048

It looks like you're writing a lot of data to disk, and it takes time proportional to the data size, so when you stop the LV code, the code and OS are still busy writing the data to disk and, hence, it feels like it stalled and then closes.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
Message 2 of 10
(202 Views)

Thank you for your response.
As you mentioned, I am indeed storing large amounts of data.
I was worried about the disk speed degradation and the disk usage reaching 100%, but it seems like everything is functioning normally.
Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(191 Views)

You can add Flush File Function to your code, call it time to time to avoid "freezing" at App's close.

Message 4 of 10
(158 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author wlsrb2048