LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview vs text based languages - like Python - Pro's, con's and incorporating the two together

Solved!
Go to solution

Thought I would reach out to the LV community to see where people stand on this topic ... Do you face push back on the use of LabVIEW in the workplace from programmers such as those who primarily work in JS, C#, Python, text based environments, lets call them "professional coders" ( not meant to be an insult to the pros in LV.. please read on).  If so, how do you manage this?  Is LV seen as an inferior language in these circles? 

I have been programming in a LabVIEW environment for about 5 years now and really enjoy it.  I've found that the graphical programming methodology has allowed me to "see" inefficiencies in my code structure quickly and allowed me to make higher level architecture decisions that would have taken me much longer to realize in a text based language.  But I do not consider myself a "programmer".  I can make some great, efficient, easy to read programs, but at the end of the day I'm a jack of all trades (master of none).  I didn't go to school for programming, I use my programming skills as a piece of the puzzle to solving an issue and get the job done.  I could be programming a robotic arm one day, or setting up a PLC another, wiring a panel, or sketching up an idea for a mechanical fixture.  I'm sure a formally educated programmer is able to setup an efficient architecture in a text based environment, but I find that for the non-programmer, LabVIEW is a faster way to realize good coding practices.