From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview for linux documentation?

I'm new with Labview, but I've been learning it on Windows 10.  I'd like to use Ubuntu 14.04 instead, but I'm finding an incredibly small amount of details on how to do that (approaching no details at all). 

I managed to find the download here, but it's a .dmg file that downloads.  I'm assuming that it isn't a mistake, and that I'm expected to convert that to another format and it will work.  The work I'm doing heavily relies on FPGAs, and I also wanted to make sure that if I did manage to get the .dmg file converted, and to successfully install, that it would be possible to have the FPGA 'plugin' (I'm unsure what they are called in Labview), working in Ubuntu.

If I have to go to Redhat, I can, and I see that it is supported here, but the first column specifies a Linux Kernel, which if I'm not mistaken, could also cover Ubuntu.  Another reason I haven't given up on Ubuntu, and gone to Redhat is because I can't seem to find any documentation on an install and setup process on Redhat either.  I'm imagining I'm just looking in the wrong places.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,599 Views)

LabVIEW FPGA development is only for Windows. The LabVIEW FPGA c interface allows you to run a bitfile from any Linux program. 

Certified LabVIEW Architect, Certified Professional Instructor
ALE Consultants

Introduction to LabVIEW FPGA for RF, Radar, and Electronic Warfare Applications
Message 2 of 5
(2,551 Views)

Hi Slimmons,

A bit more info on LabVIEW and FPGA on Linux :

http://www.ni.com/product-documentation/52786/en/

https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA00Z000000P7nVSAS