cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview for a small community Microgrid smiluation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all;

I would really appreciate your help and guidance.

I am a Control Engineer, doing my Master's Thesis on the Control of Microgrids (On a Scada/DCS Level). 

I have never used Labview before; However, I have a good experience in Control and Programming.

My aim is to model a Microgrid for a small residential community in the UK, without using any hardware, to simulate the interaction between the loads and renewable energy generation, and perform some cost/power optimization analysis.  I am also intending to include a Main Grid connection in my simulation.

The system that I am aiming to simulate would consist of a small Solar Farm, Battery storage, and a diesel generator; pretty much similar to the following case study:

http://sine.ni.com/cs/app/doc/p/id/cs-16647#prettyPhoto

I have read the previous discussions regarding that topic and found some advice on using Multisim in conjuction with Labview; However, I would rather only use labview if that is possible.

My questions are:

1-Is it technically feasible  to complete such a scope of work (Modelling + Simulation) using Labview only without adding any hardware? or do I have to use Multisim or simulink to simulate any parts of the system?

2-Are there any Labview "Renewable Energy"/"Micro Grid Parts" templates, or do I have to build everything from scratch?

3-What would be the main steps for creating that scale of work?  Should I, for example, create a VI for each section of the Microgrid, and a main VI to manage them all together?
4-Could anyone guide me to an example of a similar functioning project so I can use it as a reference ?  It doesn't have to be related to Microgrids; just any similar project can be a good refrence.

My time frame for completing that work is three weeks maximum, but I am fully dedicated for it.

I really appreciate your help.